New Victorian President Elected

Deputy Mayor Michelle Kleinert has been elected the new President of the Australian Local Government Women’s Association (Vic).

Cr Kleinert was elected at the ALGWA A.G.M. following the annual Bursary Award at the Melbourne Town Hall. She is the Deputy Mayor of Manningham City Council.

“It is a great honour to be elected President of ALGWA Victorian Branch, “said Cr Kleinert.

“I am passionate about representing the interests of women in local government. I have been a Councillor at Manningham Council since 2012 and served as Mayor during 2016/17.

“I am excited about taking on this important role and working with our members, the elected executive and state and federal members of Parliament to foster safe, inclusive and respectful environments for women in our sector.

“I look forward to seeing how we can grow our membership and continue to support our elected representatives in local government now and into the future,” she added.

After her election Cr Kleinert thanked and congratulating out-going President Helen Coleman.

“Helen has over-seen the Victorian branch for the past two years. In this time the Mentoring program has been developed and the branch has worked with Swinburne University students to develop a business plan, “said Cr Kleinert.

“The Victorian branch has also been active in supporting women in local government, making submissions to the State Government and holding events for members.

“I look forward to working with Helen as the Metro Vice President,” added Cr Kleinert.

The 2018-2020 ALGWA executive is:

President Cr Michelle Kleinert

Vice President Metro Helen Coleman

Vice President Rural Barb Abley AM

Secretary/Treasurer Helen Harris OAM

Metro Rep Cr Sandra Wilson

Rural Rep Cr Jill Parker

General Reps: Felicity Frederico, Cr Marg Atley, Cr Coral Ross